top of page

Some Lighthearted Fun: It's All in the Name


The twins had just returned from their half day kindergarten class. Michael stood at the corner of the kitchen table watching as I prepared lunch – a special time that he and I often enjoyed as he eagerly talked about his day. Matthew sometimes joined our little ritual, but normally preferred a little quiet time to reflect and play alone before joining the rest of us in the kitchen. This had become the norm -- our lunchtime routine.

Michael and I chatted as usual on this particular afternoon . . . yet he did seem a little reflective – as though he had a question on his mind. Finally he asked: “What does my name mean?”

“Michael means ‘man of God,’" I told him. My little son then informed me that his teacher wanted everyone to find out what their names mean; so after he returned from running to the living room to share with Matthew what he had learned, I gave Michael more info. “Since your first name is really Paul, and that means ‘little’ . . . your name actually means ‘little man of God!’” I smiled.

Michael seemed pleased, and followed up with more contemplation. He already knew from past conversation (this boy loved etymology!) that “junior” means "like his daddy." His delight was evident when he put it all together, stood extra tall, and joyfully proclaimed: “Then my name means ‘little man of God, just like my daddy.’"

Yes, it does, Michael . . . Yes, it sure does . . . My little (Paul) Michael, Jr! :-) It makes this mommy heart smile when her children show family pride, academic inspiration, and desire for godliness!

* * * * *

It was only a few days later when, after school, Michael asked what the word heavenly means. Not one to give simple answers, I explained that heavenly means "like Heaven," and that often if a word ends with the -ly sound, that word means "like <whatever the original word was>."

Wondering just how much of that grammatical idea my kindergarten son would comprehend, I observed carefully, watching for response. There was some deep contemplation going on. So I waited. Finally, Michael grinned and proudly declared, "Then my name means 'Little Man of God, Like a Crumb*, Just Like His Daddy!'"

Umm . . . no . . . Michael . . . (Paul) Michael Crumley, Jr. . . . No -- no, that’s *Crumley. . . without a b!

But before I could stop him, Michael ran to the front door where Daddy was just coming in to join us for lunch – and shared with Paul the good news (!?) about their names!

Oops! I had some explaining to do! :-)

Until next time,

Linda *Crumley

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page