top of page

Hope for a "Hopeless Romantic" on Valentine's Day ;-)


Someone asked me this afternoon if I do anything special for Valentine's Day. Why, yes, I do, thank you! Last year, I fixed a big scrambled egg breakfast – with all the trimmings (lots of veggies and some quinoa) . . . in the shape of a heart! And my celebration for 2014: a fairly normal dinner for me, really, but served with a candle and a slice of organic lemon! :-)

I LOVE to celebrate, but I also enjoy keeping things simple. Too much fuss and I start blocking things out. But I do love a little something lovely whenever possible (thus, the label of "hopeless romantic" that my mother has given me since I was a little girl!)

For several years, though, I had stopped celebrating this holiday because, really, "What is romance, anyway?" (See my "About" page to understand why I question that.) There was a time I thought no answer could be found – for that question and many others. So, what does a hopeless romantic do on such a holiday then – without a sweetheart to share it with? Nothing. Or so I thought.

All of that changed a little over a year ago – when I decided to stop trying to be someone I am not. I am a hopeless romantic (mothers know these things) but . . . those questions . . . those daunting questions without answers . . . Well, turned out I was wrong. There are answers; it just took me a while to find them! And now . . . well . . . "beauty for ashes" continues – even on a day such as this.

So, back to the question . . . “What is romance, anyway?” Being Valentine’s Day and all, I'm glad you asked. ;-) I'd love to share my thoughts. My new thoughts. The thoughts that God replaced with His own – after I gave Him my ashes. To begin, ! looked up "romance" in a dictionary. (Dictionaries have all the answers, right?) :-)

Oh-oh! Each online dictionary I checked began with something about a special bond between 2 particular people. Hmmm. . . That won’t work for this blog entry today . . .

Aahhh! I found it! TheFreeDictionary by Farlex, 2nd definition: “A mysterious or fascinating quality or appeal, as of something adventurous, heroic, or strangely beautiful.” Now that’s what my mom saw in me long ago: an idealistic, dreamy-eyed little girl easily mesmerized by beauty and heroic or adventurous deeds (in others, that is . . . not in myself!) Being a hopeless romantic, then, is more about how one views and responds to life in general – and to all the people who bring adventure, heroism, and beauty to our days. For me there are many! It isn't necessarily about a special Someone. It is a spirit God gives . . . an outlook, if you will . . . a gift from Him that, in His sovereignty, happens to be who I am – the way He made me – and not to be denied.

So, there we go! It was a beautiful day for me when I stopped trying to be “so strong” as to deny who I really am, thinking that somehow that was the way to survive life’s disappointments – just stop being me, and just work hard and survive. But all that did was crush my spirit and isolate me and make me vulnerable to substitutions.

Today, I embrace the idea of being a hopeless romantic. (Thanks, Mom, for identifying that in me!) It's an energy that drives me, and certainly needs good direction – but not denial. Today, I enjoyed an afternoon visit with a new friend, sharing life and a pot of tea with her and her sweet daughter. (Wish I’d thought to take a picture.) Later this evening, I found more loveliness by taking a few extra moments to set a table like I used to – and continued celebration of Valentine’s Day by enjoying a candle and flowers and the fancy touch of a lemon slice on my water glass.

May you find love, joy, and beauty each day as you look through the eyes of Who You Really Are – whoever that may be – a hopeless romantic or a practical realist . . . or somewhere in between. Certainly you are an one who is loved . . . and one who is created “in the likeness of God” (Genesis 5:1) for His own glory.

And don’t forget: He is altogether lovely! So, you be the lovely creation that God had in mind all along for you! And have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

p.s. More next week on the value, ease, and cost of this meal. You may be surprised!

47 views0 comments
bottom of page